Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for an idiot-proof explanation...

JamGuy

Hi all,

Sorry to be posting here (as my bass is technically an Epi) but my last thread in Epi-ville was over run by some idiot's ranting. Anyhow, for the life of me I can't get my EB-0 bass wired correctly. Now having said that, I'm not sure what a "correctly" wired EB-0 behaves and sounds like. Here's a list of problems and associated attempts to remedy them. Please keep in mind that I have plenty of experience following wiring diagrams and feel pretty competent soldering (until this project...)

PROBLEM #1(As stock)- Quiet overall output, rolling off the volume slightly led to a complete loss of volume, tone control had little effect.

SOLUTION #1 -Rewired following the stock wiring, new input jack, new .047 Orange Drop Cap, new 500k Alpha audio taper pots.

RESULT: A freshly wired bass with the exact same problems associated with low output and even less tone control. ](*,)

SOLUTION #2 A local tech suggested that maybe one of my new pots was bad. So I purchased two more 500k Alpha Audio taper pots and tried again...

RESULT: You guessed it... no change whatsoever. ](*,)

SOULTION #3 Yesterday I tore out everything and rewired it completely as per a Seymour Duncan P-Bass schematic, using new wire, yet again two more new 500k Alpha audio taper pots, a new .047 cap (green chicklet looking one from radio shack)

RESULT: Same problem with low output. To make matters worse, the tone and volume controls now seem to function in reverse. What seems like it should be 10 is 0, and vice versa. Now, when I roll "off" the tone, I'm losing volume as well which renders the bass useless unless I keep the volume and tone at 10 (which again, is where 0 is on the knob) ](*,)

SOLUTION #4 Threw the bass off the roof...just kidding :rolleyes:

Here's what I'd like to have this bass wired to do...

*A nice even sweep of the volume knob

*A nice even sweep of the tone control which doesn't impact the volume