Gibson Brands Forums

Anybody else have a '61 Melody Maker D?

JellyWheat

It has 2 pickups, the original frets in good condition, is extremely clean with minimal checking / crazing, all original electronics, and is bought from a very reputable vintage/pro shop that I have been doing business with since 1982.

I did a fair bit of listening to clips in the internet featuring similar guitars, and I'm pretty convinced the MM will work for my style of fingerstyle playing (examples on SoundCloud, for those interested...).

Any comments, suggestions, or cautions?

Regards,

JellyWheat

B)

Hi , Searcy! I'm glad you're in this thread. I was gonna PM you.

The lips I have watched on U-Tube (especially the ones by Greg's Guitars) sounded yummy.

How good/poor are the pups? As you may have gathered from my other posts, I'm partial to P-90s and Texas Specials. Will the MM pups be any thinner or noisier than Fndr single coils?.

What's your take... I'm very interested!

Best regards,

J/W

B)

They don't sound as big as a P-90. They are more fosuced in tone. Like a Tele bridge pickup in a lot of ways. I think the 61 has the old 50's neck profile that the 59 Les Paul had which is nice and a bit more sought after than other MMs. If it's all original and you can get it for $1000 or less I'd jump on it.

Searcy, I sent you a PM with the particulars of the instrument...

I would have thought the interweb would be maggoty with 2-pickup MMs, but they don't seem to be that common. Original specimens in great shape appear to be quite rare, actually.

Do we have any idea of how many MMs were produced between 1960 and 1963?

J/W

2369869489_3b5beb0152_o.jpg

The price of them around here has gone up since Mr. Kidman decided to start playing them.

I don't have any idea how many were made but I think the other issue was that so many of them were butchered. It's had to find one with the original pickups let alone the original tuners.