Gibson Brands Forums

thinking of buying a EL00,need advice

jwmtele

Hello people,

I am thinking of buying a Epiphone EL00,I have been playing blues and classic rock for a few years

on a electric,and now want to learn acustic blues,delta style,Robert Johnson type music.I will be taking

some online lessons.What do you all think of the Epiphone EL00?I want a Gibson blues king but cant afford one

at this time,and the EL00 is a copy of the blues king.Does anyone own one or have any advice on buying one?

Looking to spend around $300 and the EL00 is at that price.I dont live near any stores that carry one so i

will be ordering one from a major online music store.Any and all input and advice is most welcome,Thanks in

advance.Cheers.

James

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Odd--before I posted the reply about the FT135, I had done another one that got bumped, apparently. Well, aside from also recommending the Bluesmaster--which Epi needs to return to its line--and telling of my own gear, I suggested the Masterbilt EF line, esp. the EF500M, the mahogany-bodied model.

Hi,

I own an Epiphone EL-00, I bought it around three years ago. It's the later shaped one, as you like the Gibson blues king you should try and find the earlier 'rounded' bout EL's. In my opinion they are great little instruments. They are not the loudest guitars in the world but have a lovely tone and capo'd up it simply comes alive.

Alternatively as someone has mentioned in the post before the other option is a 60/70's Epiphone Caballero (I think) or the Cortez. Both getting increasingly hard to come by these days but there is a few about on the net. I only joined tonight on this forum and already I'm rambling!!!