Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Pump Polish

bluezguy

Just got my first 2 orange bottles of Gibson world famous Pump Polish. All 4 of my stage units are nitro finished. Until now, I've been using Martin Guitar Polish for about 25 years .. never a problem. All 4 'test areas' on my new 335, Lp Standard, Firebird V and SG Standard are now CLOUDY !!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF WTF WTF WTF?????????????

To apply the stuff, I'm using lint free synthetic soft cloths that cost a small fortune and buffing with $10 synthetic detail cloths. No cotton, no flannel ... all pro stuff for fine finishes. HELP!! msp_cursing.gif

You may want to clean your guitars with nitro finishes with "naphtha", then start over.......

At the Gibson factory, they use naphtha to clean the guitars......

This is meant only as a start for the conversation; Many will expand with in depth advice............

Spray directly on 100% cotton cloth, wipe guitar -- it should shine the finish. I've never heard of Gibson pump polish making the finish cloudy.

will agree SOFT COTTON ! I'am thinking that it could be reacting to previous products used on it!? are you making sure to wipe it down so it's not leaving a lot of undried product on the git before you put it away? also seen where you should'nt use synthetic rags!

Spray directly on 100% cotton cloth, wipe guitar -- it should shine the finish. I've never heard of Gibson pump polish making the finish cloudy.

Well ... you've heard of it now AND ... I'll go one step further. I'll drive to Memphis or Nashville from Florida with all 4 instruments. You will be able to inspect them then go at it with your genuine Gibson Pump Polish. I purchased the 2 bottles from Amazon.com. What's the chances of counterfeit crap in bottles??