Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Supreme - is it real? How can I tell?

Richmeister2

I was able to pick up what I think is a real Les Paul Supreme at a pawn shop. But I got home and started really looking at it am I'm starting to wonder if it's really a true Les Paul.

The head stock is VERY similar to what I've seen on the web, but the letters aren't as clear as the pictures I've seen. It has a two screw bell tension rod cover and the right keys, but it doesn't say "Les Paul" on the cover, and on the back of the body, it has the access panels for the electronics, which I haven't seen on any Supreme pictures.

Can someone help me identify this guitar? I am a drummer, but play a little, so bear with me on the specifics.

Supremes should have a "planet" logo on the headstock instead of the signature and should not have access panels on the back. It sounds like a fake to me, unless you've got the model mixed up. The truss rod cover should have two screws as you described and be kind of a gold-colour, and it does not have "Les Paul" or any writing for that matter engraved on it. Pictures would be helpful. Until then, don't buy, that's my advice.

Are all the globes on the headstock exactly the same? This has some sort of inlaid which is very similar to what I've seen, but not exact, and "Supreme" looks like it was hand-etched as opposed to "typeset".

I'm going to some local experts, but assuming that it's a fraud, it's still a really good fake! Who is making these?

Rich, I hope you didn't get ripped off. Mind also sharing what you paid for it?

Either way...if you're in the US, you can probably force the pawn shop to give you a refund if you threaten to contact Gibson and get them involved. If it is a fake, I don't care how good the quality is...don't keep it.