Gibson Brands Forums

New SJ200 problem

Mr Clean

Hi there.

Has anyone else out there had major problems with a brand new Gibson acoustic?

I recently spent my life savings on a gorgeous new SJ200.

I played it for a few weeks, and it sounded great, but I was really struggling with the high action on the guitar so I took it to my guitar tech to get it set up.

Then the bombshell I didn't expect to hear.....

He told me that the neck had been poorly set at the factory and that he could lower the action as much as he could now, but that I would definitely encounter problems in the future.

I was completely gutted, but seeing as I'm a complete novice in such matters I took the guitar to 2 other respected luthiers, but they said exactly the same thing.

I took the guitar back to my own tech and he lowered the saddle to make the guitar playable. Now the guitar play OK (though the action is still quite high) but there is now barely any break angle over the saddle to the bridge, and if I strum hard I sometimes get a 'sitar' effect sound.

So the guitar was sent back to the dealer. They looked at it and informed me that Gibson wouldn't re set the neck as there is nothing wrong with it. They also said that they had loads of Gibson acoustics in stock and that most of them don't have much of a break angle over the saddle.

I wasn't happy with this at all, so I dug my heels in and I've now been told that the guitar is being sent to Gibson for someone there to look at.

Hopefully they will act with the integrity and honesty that you associate with Gibson and sort the guitar out for me.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Yes, i can imagine this leaving a bitter taste in the mouth, especially with something like a J-200, or any Gibson for that matter. Hope it will be sorted and you will be back playin' away and lovign the tone and playability, keep us posted !