Gibson Brands Forums

Latest version of Pro Tools

BobB

Pro Tools has been an industry standard for a while. I have been thinking about trying it out and thought I would check with the Recording Room gang to get some feedback. How do you rate the latest version? Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

Pro Tools has been an industry standard for a while. I have been thinking about trying it out and thought I would check with the Recording Room gang to get some feedback. How do you rate the latest version? Thanks.

I'm using the latest version (10x) and it works fine. I wouldn't purchase the hardware based versions right now. Just buy the software only version if you want to try it out. Good luck!

Thanks Dave. I have been considering getting into 5.1 surround recording and have seen Pro Tools mentioned in some of the material I have been studying. I appreciate your response.

I have been using Pro Tools for many years as I use it in my work. My first home version was 7.0. First off, I would not waste my time on Pro Tools if you have no recording experience or, if you don't have some basic knowledge of computer based recording. As with everything software, there is a learning curve and with Pro Tools, the learning curve can be quite tedious. So much can go wrong at any time. Just go to any of the "Pro Tools" forums for insight.

That said, there are some computer based recording packages out now that are better for easy entry into the world of Computer based recording (DAW or Digital Audio Workstation). M-Audio has some nice entry level interface/software packages that won't break the bank and are easier to set up and use right out of the box. Lexicon has an interface/software package that is very solid as well as inexpensive.