Gibson Brands Forums

Firebird Reverse 70s Tribute

provny

Greetings,

I was thinking about getting one of the recently released Firebird Tribute models. Strangely, I haven't been able to find any reviews (although I did watch a couple demos on YouTube).

They are relatively inexpensive, look nice (although not as cool looking as the more upscale Firebirds I've seen), and are available left handed (which is what I need).

Any comments or thoughts on these?

Also, I'm curious what Firebirds are mainly known for-- strictly for lead, or are they good for playing rhythm as well? (I'm still fairly new to guitar playing, and still haven't ventured far beyond the first five frets, except for playing power chords.)

Thanks for any insights or information you can provide.

It looks the part... [thumbup]

Firebirds are an aquired taste IMO and engender an enthusiastic following

Good as part of a collection rather than a sole guitar

Famous in the hands of players like Johnny Winter, Stephen Stills, Ron Wood, Brian Jones and even Eric Clapton

And certain soul funk players too

Generally lauded for their mini H/B's with a unique sound....

The hard-core Firebird has a beautiful walnut/mahogany through neck construction for tone and sustain...

Try one out extensively before buying... [biggrin]

V

:-({|=

It looks the part... [thumbup]

Firebirds are an aquired taste IMO and engender an enthusiastic following

Good as part of a collection rather than a sole guitar

Famous in the hands of players like Johnny Winter, Stephen Stills, Ron Wood, Brian Jones and even Eric Clapton

And certain soul funk players too

Generally lauded for their mini H/B's with a unique sound....

The hard-core Firebird has a beautiful walnut/mahogany through neck construction for tone and sustain...

Try one out extensively before buying... [biggrin]

V

:-({|=

Versatile-- thanks for the information!

Well, just my personal opinion but: