Gibson Brands Forums

Sore fingers

jedzep's sarcasm aside, he's (she's) right. You just need to continue practicing until you build up callouses. I am also a beginner, been playing about 9 months, and went through the same thing.

Just be careful that you don't get them so sore that it is a deterrent to practice. If they get too sore take a break. Let them heal a little bit. One may not consciously realize it but if they get too sore your brain may go, "That is something that, when I do it, hurts me. I don't want to do that".

It happened to me.

BTW, I was on a trip the last week and didn't practice the entire time (10 days). Just got back to practicing and can tell it! Played a bunch yesterday and they are sore [mad][wink]

If I've not played for a while and get sore fingers again, I find a bit of E45 cream a few times a day takes the edge off the burning. Normally within three days it's no longer a problem as the skin's hardened up enough. (I don't have tough hands to begin with!)

I always recommend that beginners start playing a full step slack tuned, and build callouses without sacrificing the joy of playing. If you break the skin, it'll set you back. Having a decent electric around to switch off to is a plus.

• 4 weeks later...

When your fingers start to get sore put it down and come back tomorrow. A few weeks of practice time will build up the toughness and you wont have a problem. I too find that if I play my accoustic they will hurt more and I will switch to the electric for a day or so (finer strings and a lower set up ) which allows me to practice and still maintain the calluses on my fingers. Time heals all !

• 2 weeks later...