Gibson Brands Forums

Upgrades to ES335-12?

nightchef

Hey everybody--newbie here.

I have an ES335-12, not sure of the year, but I guess they only made them from '65 to '70, so somewhere in there.

It's in far from mint condition--the trapeze tailpiece had been replaced with a stopbar before I bought it (you can still see the imprint of the old tailpiece on the finish). Then I had the bridge replaced and the neck reset to try to fix persistent intonation problems (still not perfect, but better).

It now needs electronics work--there's crackling at the input jack, the pickup switch, and a couple of the pots. Also, the finish is in rough shape--lots of crazing as well as dings and scratches.

My question is, given the fact that so much has already been done to it, is there any reason not to refinish it when I get the electronics work done? It seems like the vintage value horse has already left the barn with the tailpiece and bridge replacements, so from a resale POV I might as well make it look nicer. Is this correct, or would refinishing diminish its value further even after what's already been done? I'm not currently planning to sell it, but I want to keep my options open.

Many thanks for any & all advice,

Brian

This is a tricky one, since so much has already been done to the guitar. However, everything that has been done is reversible, while a re-finish is not, so its impact on value is far greater.

In any case, the cost of a re-finish would be high relative to the value of the guitar. I would not recommend it.

Below is my 1968 ES 335-12:

outsidenoflash.jpg

I agree with Nick on this. His is a very primo example of what you are referencing to, I assume? I would have to see a pic of yours to make a definitive judgement call....BUT....My general rule with vintage guitars is, "never re-finish' unless it has previously been "refinished poorly"!

I can say 'humbly' that I can bring a shine out of most original-finish Gibsons'....no matter how grungy!