Gibson Brands Forums

Soldering Iron question

deepblue

Im trying to do a soldering job on my Strat. Dont laugh guys, this is my first time.

Problem...

I cant get the soldering iron hot enough to melt the solder on my pots.

Its a 25w soldering iron.....Is that the problem?

I need a more powerful iron to melt it up?

I'm not laughing.

25w isn't a lot but people do use them. I am old-school and use a Weller 140, which is a lot like using a chainsaw to carve a turkey. But it's what I'm used to....

The key with any soldering iron is to make sure you have a good tip. Any corrosion or crap will interfere with heat transfer. Chances are your tip will unscrew. Unscrew it and polish the threads with steel wool. Polish the whole tip in fact. Sand or file it until all traces of old crap are gone. Go to Radio Shack and get some small (thin) 60/40 solder, which has a lower melt temp. And believe it or not, it's also helpful to shine the solder up with the steel wool right before using it.

If you do find a bigger iron cheap, grab it. 40W or so.

Thanks fellas...

I took your advice and exchanged the iron for a 40w.

Guess what??

It still wont melt the solder on the guitar. Itll melt solder that I bought from the store, but it wont melt the

existing solder thats already on the guitar ( pots, ground etc) I called Fender and asked if it was some kind of

super solder and was told it was not.

No matter. I cut the wires and will get my brother inlaw to give me some pointers as to what im doing wrong.

Im such a putz!!

The solder already on the pots will not melt immediately with a 40watt iron. I think the reason may be that the solder already used on the pot does not have the resin in it.

You have to make sure that:

- the tip of the iron is srewed in tight and not loose.

- warm the iron up for at least 5 minutes, 10 is better.

- when you put the tip of the iron to the solder on the pot try to angle it so you have more contact, don't just touch it with the fine tip.