Gibson Brands Forums

Plunky tone on a 5 string bass

DFlather

I'm hoping someone can help here. Had a 5 string (passive) Spirit for over 10 years and loved it. Dialed back the tone and played it thru a Hartke 12 kickback and it was as deep, dark and warm as a summer night.

Just took the plunge, bought a 5 string Synapse custom from Sam Ash.

The new bass doesn't sound anywhere near as good as the old one. It sounds extremely thin, hollow, and frankly... *cheap*.

I have the piezo turned off, humbucker at 100% and even when I roll the treble to off and the bass to 100%, it still sounds super plunky.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

- Doug

Doug,

being a guitarist I cannot really help with a Synapse bass (although I own other Steinberger basses, but not a Synapse). One thing that comes to mind is the general difference between passive pickups (on a Spirit) and active pickups (on a Synapse). In general all active pickups - also on guitar - deliver much more of the higher frequencies, which has a simple electric background: capacities of cables dampen high frequencies, especially with high impedance outputs. Active pickups have an onboard preamp and deliver a low impedance output, which is not influenced (to the same degree) by cable resistance and capacities. This has an effect that I often see among guitarists: they plug a guitar with active pickups into their amp for the first time, play a few chords, and put it away with comments like "cold, sterile". Or I guess this translates to "plunky"on the bass. ;)

The thing to know is: amp and EQ settings of a passive instrument will NEVER match the signal of an active instrument. You simply can't use the same settings for both and expect the same results. It usually takes some time to find the new settings that work for an active instrument, but then you will notice that you've actually gained a much wider range of frequencies, from which you can select by tweaking your amp settings.