Gibson Brands Forums

Odd Bridge on 1994 J-200 Special

Jumbofingers

Here's a 1994 J-200 Special, Centennial label, belongs to Ernie Hawkins (and is for sale, by the way). I'm no expert, but I've never seen one where the bridge is behind (or between) the ribbons of MOP inlay.

I see no signs of the bridge being replaced. Ernie got the guitar used, and It was like this when he got it. Either way, it's no goof, because the intonation is fine. I suspect his bridge is on some other Centennial editions.

Just want to know if anyone else has one, or has seen one.

Photo is too large to load. Pix are visible at: http://s1275.photobucket.com/user/erniesguitars/library/J-200?sort=6&page=1

Here's a 1994 J-200 Special, Centennial label, belongs to Ernie Hawkins (and is for sale, by the way). I'm no expert, but I've never seen one where the bridge is behind (or between) the ribbons of MOP inlay.

I see no signs of the bridge being replaced. Ernie got the guitar used, and It was like this when he got it. Either way, it's no goof, because the intonation is fine. I suspect his bridge is on some other Centennial editions.

Just want to know if anyone else has one, or has seen one.

Photo is too large to load. Pix are visible at: http://s1275.photobucket.com/user/erniesguitars/library/J-200?sort=6&page=1

Odd..? The 2 ribbons in front of the saddle I have never seen before ..?!? The headstock looks fake....hard to tell but something does not look 'right'

A 4 Ribbon bridge is a normal sight on some J200's .... This is what I am used to seeing.

http://www2.gibson.com/Products/Acoustic-Instruments/Super-Jumbo/Gibson-Acoustic/SJ-200-True-Vintage.aspx

The guitar looks legit but I think the bridge is a replacement. The saddle looks awfully close to the inlay. The shaping also doesn't look like factory work to me. I have never seen ribbon inlay in front of the saddle. 4 ribbon ones are common but between the saddle and bridge pins not in front.