Gibson Brands Forums

Electricus Guitaro Stringum

J.R.M.30!

Whichever is cheaper. There is no real difference.

That is awesome.

I've been using Ernie Ball #2223, Super Slinky, 9-42, since about 1976 precisely because there is a real difference!

We are never to agree.

rct

Never say never, my friend! [biggrin]

Truth: Soon as I wrote that I pictured myself as this 53 year old guy that's been playing for more than 40 years now just buying whatever is in the store the day I'm there, putting them on one or three of my guitars, and really just not giving af uck.

You are right. I retract my statement that we are never to agree!

rct

Truth: Soon as I wrote that I pictured myself as this 53 year old guy that's been playing for more than 40 years now just buying whatever is in the store the day I'm there, putting them on one or three of my guitars, and really just not giving af uck.

You are right. I retract my statement that we are never to agree!

rct

One thing I've learned here... our ears are all different. I've been buying strings for 35 years (not quite as long as you have, admittedly, cuz you're older than me). I've tried quite a few brands over that time. I have my preferences. But as of late I've used Ernie Ball, GHS, D'Adarrio, and even Electro Harmonix strings on my electrics, and I don't think they are much different at all. The OP asked specifically about two brands, and to me the two that he referenced are very similar in sound and durability, thus my response to buy whichever of those two is cheaper.

EB Cobalt Slinkies. Massive difference.

exactly this. never thought there really was a difference until I tried these.

So the Cobalt thing really makes a difference? I have not tried these.