Gibson Brands Forums

When Do the New Models Show Up at Dealers?

Lefty55

How long after NAMM does it take for the new Gibsons to begin showing up at dealers? I'm not talking about GC either. They have nothing to offer left handed guitarists. I'm new to Gibson ownership and have been told by a dealer that Gibson plans to have most of their more popular models available in lefty versions. I'm looking to pick up a J-45 TV.

As for electrics, this was varying from one model to another the last years. I experienced that they make considerable lots of them what may take a few months, and then they are released about the same time all around the world.

Lefty ,

the last thing I ordered from Gibson last years was a lefty Elvis Costello Century Of Progress and the order was placed in early august 2012 and the guitar arrived at Fuller's on the 13 of February 2013

I think it all comes done to how much work has to be done on a particular guitar ... if you don't want to wait Wildwood guitars has 2 or 3 J 45 standards and a Hummingbird Standard :

Hummingbird :

http://www.wildwoodguitars.com/products/11083050.php?CategoryID=451&n=27

J 45 :

http://www.wildwoodguitars.com/products/11423058.php?CategoryID=451&n=13

Dave's Guitars has a J 185 + a Blues King in lefty :

http://davesguitar.com/products/gibson-montana/j-185-left-hand/

http://davesguitar.com/products/gibson-montana/blues-king-left-hand/

in the case you don't find a lefty J 45 TV at this time ... you can check those out =)

JC

Have you listened to the sound clips on site here comparing the TV, the 45 standard and the 35? You may decide not to pay the premium for the TV. I played 4 new Gibsons yesterday, all standard models, all excellent. Bozeman is kicking butt these days. Oh and by the way, I think one of those - an SJ-100 WAS a new model.

P

JCV thanks for the links but I was allready aware of those. How does the sound compare between the TV and the Standard J 45?

let Tony P's reviews clarify your mind =) :