Gibson Brands Forums

My basement find. 1929 L-0?

Ebarth

Hi newbie here,

I recently bought a guitar from my coworker. It has been in her basement for years. It belonged to her Great Uncle and she is probably close to 60 if I had to guess. When I first saw it I thought the bridge had been replaced because I haven't seen one like it before. It looked like something a luthier made to raise the saddle. Most of the pictures I found of these old L-0, L-1, And L-00 guitars had a longer bridge on them. Then I found this post; http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/14380-how-old-is-this/page__hl__1929%20l-0%20__unlockUserAgent__1. These bridges look the same to me. Anyhow, has anyone ever seen this color of mahogany stain before? I have only seen one picture online that looks like it. The FON is 9247. Am I correct in thinking it is a 1929? Here are some pics. This guitar has a neat tone and plays well even with 30+ year old strings on it. Does anyone have any idea what it might be worth? Thanks in advance.

post-60190-014918600 1382773874_thumb.jpg

post-60190-081741500 1382773888_thumb.jpg

post-60190-092039900 1382773899_thumb.jpg

post-60190-066828400 1382773936_thumb.jpg

post-60190-046936700 1382773960_thumb.jpg

post-60190-034011400 1382773967_thumb.jpg

Yes that FON is listed as a batch of L0 guitars from 1929 in Joe Spann's guide.. I commented in the thread you linked to. This bridge is late and often means an X or A braced top. Which does this have?

Value: Does it have an original hard case or soft case. $2200-3200.

They are light!

Terry

Yes that FON is listed as a batch of L0 guitars from 1929 in Joe Spann's guide.. I commented in the thread you linked to. This bridge is late and often means an X or A braced top. Which does this have?

Value: Does it have an original hard case or soft case. $2200-3200.

They are light!

Terry