Gibson Brands Forums

L5 String Performance

AusiRob

I have been playing an ES345 since 1977 and love that guitar, however, I recently purchased a new L5CES from the custom shop. It is strung with pure nickel round wound strings. Love the tone but getting a lot of string scratch when I slide on chords. Would like to stick to round wounds for brightness but willing to have a go at flat wounds. I mainly want to use the L5 for chord solo work. I have tried string lubricant and talc powder on my finger tips with very little improvement. I am using a Fender Twin amp and I like to use a little reverb and presence. Any suggestions? PS, never had this problem with the ES345 so it is obviously the acoustic vibrance of the L5 that is causing the string noise.

Try some flatwounds, give them a chance and see if you can adjust to them. When using rounds, you could try rolling off some treble (especially since you're using a bright amp light a blackface Fender); and when using flatwounds, you might be able to go with more treble. Basically, just experiment. I've been using flatwounds on my jazz guitars for many years, and have always loved them.

I have been playing an ES345 since 1977 and love that guitar, however, I recently purchased a new L5CES from the custom shop. It is strung with pure nickel round wound strings. Love the tone but getting a lot of string scratch when I slide on chords. Would like to stick to round wounds for brightness but willing to have a go at flat wounds. I mainly want to use the L5 for chord solo work. I have tried string lubricant and talc powder on my finger tips with very little improvement. I am using a Fender Twin amp and I like to use a little reverb and presence. Any suggestions? PS, never had this problem with the ES345 so it is obviously the acoustic vibrance of the L5 that is causing the string noise.

This works for me on a similar type guitar (Super 400 CES) for that type of playing: