Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson lp 60s tribute vs lp studio 2014

hoross

I played over the years many Gibson les pauls i admit the best i ever had was a classic antique unfortunately i needed the money and had to sell it.I struggled to find a good one and i had an lpj recently but sold it and tried a 60s tribute which was very cool and i saw an lp studio 2014.I was wondering cause its maybe 20 dollars difference between these two which one would you choose?

Well, I'm sure you are more experienced then I am with electrics, I've been playing acoustic for 6 years or so, but a few weeks ago I had the same choice and picked up a very nice 2013 Les Paul 60s tribute in vintage sunburst. I liked the Burstbucker 1 and 2 over the 490s on the studio and the Grovers on the Tribute felt a little more solid to me, though the Kluson's (I think they were Kluson's) weren't bad at all. The feel between the 60's Tribute and the new studio was very similar. The studio may have ben a few ounces lighter. Build quality was very similar between them. The biggest plus to the 2014 Studio was the coil taps give you a few more options to your sound.

The price difference was quite a bit more then $20 though, over $200 less for the 60's Tribute which i liked better anyway!

There are a lot of deals on the Tributes right now as it's the end of the year. The down side of that is finding them is tougher and color choices are limited. The sunburst is nice if you can find it...

Good luck with the search...

-Jim

I have a 60s Tribute goldtop.. one of the first run with the light back...

Is it one of the P90 ones or one of the new Tribute models with humbuckers?

I think they are bloody great for the price..

IMG_0191_zpsed17afe3.jpg

Yes my friend i ordered a Gibson lp studio 2014 desertburst i tried one in the shop but not the colour i wanted really much better then a 60s tribute and closer to a standard. [thumbup]

Don't forget the pics when it arrives. otherwise it never happened :)

-Jim