Gibson Brands Forums

1978 Les paul custom

Mister P

Hello all!

First, my best wishess for 2014 to you and all the people you love :)

I'm a newbie on this forum and for now I'm still no Gibson owner... But I'm getting closer every day! I'm looking for a Les Paul, and I have the opportunity to buy a 1978 Les Paul custom WR. I will try it in a couple of days but I was more generally wondering about this period for LP custom.

Does anyone has some info to give me?

The guitar seems in good shape but the back is deeply scratched at the back (no paint on a 10cm "circle" -> I guess belts may have cause that). Ant good advice on how to manage this?

Thanks in advance for your answers!

Hello and welcome Mr. P!

Some might call them crappy Norlin-era anchors, but it's not me! They are great. Heavy ones, but with great neck profile and tone.

She's going to be 36 in a month:

HPIM3822_zpsa4de7f9f.jpg

Cheers... Bence

Sounds like it has classic buckle rash. Other that getting that area refinished I am not sure how to take care of it.

It seems indeed like a "buckle rash" (I'm not native english speaker... so thanks, I've learned a new word ;)

But the wood seems "unprotected"... I don't care about the look but maybe the wood would appreciate a protection (against humidity for example?).

Hello and welcome Mr. P!

Some might call them crappy Norlin-era anchors, but it's not me! They are great. Heavy ones, but with great neck profile and tone.

She's going to be 36 in a month:

Cheers... Bence

Hey hey! She looks great :)

Thanks for your opinion and the keywords! Very helpfull for my research!

Whilst it is true that the decade of the '70s is generally accepted as being a low point in the history of Gibson the situation had improved greatly by 1978.

You will still need to evaluate the instrument personally and as impassionately as possible; don't be fooled by any 'Vintage' or 'Old Wood' sales-pitch.