Gibson Brands Forums

Traditional Pickguard Removal Question

maxpax69

Hi, I'm looking to remove the pick guard from my 2013 Chicago Blue Traditional and was looking for advice on what to do about the screw holes that are left behind.

Is there any recommended filler types that won't affect the surrounding wood or finish or is it ok just to leave the screw hole as is?

Any advice would be appreciated and I apologize now as I am a newbie to this site. IMHO I think that Gibson might be better served to not have the pick guard attached to any model above the studio. Just include it in the case as they did with my Standard and give the player the option.

Cheers!

Chris

Hi, I'm looking to remove the pick guard from my 2013 Chicago Blue Traditional and was looking for advice on what to do about the screw holes that are left behind.

Is there any recommended filler types that won't affect the surrounding wood or finish or is it ok just to leave the screw hole as is?

Any advice would be appreciated and I apologize now as I am a newbie to this site. IMHO I think that Gibson might be better served to not have the pick guard attached to any model above the studio. Just include it in the case as they did with my Standard and give the player the option.

Cheers!

Chris

+++1

Rubber band is better. Screws mess with tone.

Eric Johnson said it, after all ;).

#sarcasm

-Ryan

Years ago, like 15 maybe, he was in the newsgroups, EJROX. We used to fight like cats and dogs about the rubber band thing. He was pretty much kidding when he said it, and it really took off!

rct

Cheers!

Chris

Tried like crazy to catch Sweetwater before they installed the pickguard on my son's 2013 LP Trad in Chicago Blue...no luck. You got good advice.. simply put top screw back in (leave side hole open, truly unnoticeable). Some day you WILL change your mind.

My avatar (2010 Trad) is currently naked.

One more vote for above.

It's a small hole. Leave it alone or put the screw back in.