Gibson Brands Forums
Sign in to follow this  
J. Georg

LP 59 - structure of maple top

Hi

I just received my first LP ever. It is so great! However I wonder about the structure of the maple top. Never seen this before. What do you think? Should I return it and ask for a new one?

As I mentioned, I have no experience with Gibson, so any help/advice is highly appreciated.

Thanks!

post-62849-016663500 1390322715_thumb.jpg

Is it a finish problem or is that how the grain of the wood is? Does it sound good?

It's about the grain. Finish is fine. It sounds good. However, remember I am new to LP.

It's about the grain. Finish is fine. It sounds good. However, remember I am new to LP.

I guess I am not seeing the issue you are talking about. I do see some fantastic grain patterns. Maybe you were expecting a near perfect grain pattern where each half of the top to be a mirror image of the other side. Many of us want the type of top you have. I assume you received it from an authorized Gibson dealer, so they should be able to take a look at it or should have looked at it and set it up before it was shipped to you. It is hard to tell if there is an issue from the photo. Can you be more specific?

I guess I am not seeing the issue you are talking about. I do see some fantastic grain patterns. Maybe you were expecting a near perfect grain pattern where each half of the top to be a mirror image of the other side. Many of us want the type of top you have. I assume you received it from an authorized Gibson dealer, so they should be able to take a look at it or should have looked at it and set it up before it was shipped to you. It is hard to tell if there is an issue from the photo. Can you be more specific?

CR 9,