Gibson Brands Forums

Tips for playing full band stripped down

solacematt

So my band is playing an 'unplugged' style show next weekend, which is cool because I write all of our music late at night on my acoustic anyways, right down to the fast and heavy stuff. The problem we encountered last night though is that our drummer can't seem to play the songs the same way as he does electric in a stripped down sense. So his bashing of the cymbals and such just overpowers the acoustic and vocals coming out of the PA. Since the place we're playing is fairly small (maybe 20X35) and holds 60 people, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips that we can subtly give our drummer so that we'll sound good and not clear the place due to him playing too friggin loud.

Well, you can always get your hands on an electric drum set and keep the volume down... as for drum mutes, I've got no experience so I wouldn't know. Depending on your genre of music, you could just make him keep the set at home and throw him some congas, a couple maracas, maybe a wood block, etc. Be careful, though: DON'T GIVE HIM A COWBELL, WHATEVER YOU DO!!!! Nothing wrong with cowbell, but in the wrong song/used excessively it can be disastrous...

Well' date=' you can always get your hands on an electric drum set and keep the volume down... as for drum mutes, I've got no experience so I wouldn't know. Depending on your genre of music, you could just make him keep the set at home and throw him some congas, a couple maracas, maybe a wood block, etc. Be careful, though: DON'T GIVE HIM A COWBELL, WHATEVER YOU DO!!!! Nothing wrong with cowbell, but in the wrong song/used excessively it can be disastrous...[/quote']

I recommended bongos and other percussive instruments; he's rejected them. He says they're 'stupid' and 'gay.' Figure stripped down, our music is like Alice In Chains unplugged.