Gibson Brands Forums

My new SJ-200

Larry W

Here is my new 2014 SJ-200. I got it 2 weeks ago today. I have lots of guitars, mostly electric. But I had been lusting for a J-200 for over 30 years. I retired from live gigging in May of 2012. (Glad I did that after 40 years.) I told my wife that I wanted to sell off some stuff and get a new Martin D-45 and a new Gibson SJ-200.

So I had some played tested for me at several Gibson dealers around the country. There is no Gibson dealer near me other than a new GC that has nothing like this. I finally settled on this baby from Sweetwater.

I have Historic Les Pauls and 335s, Custom Shop Fenders, PRS, etc.........but nothing has excited me like this J-200 does. I had not touched a guitar since September of 2012. I had really, really burned out. I had been playing live gigs continuously since 1978. I even had to play a gig on the night of the day I got married.

Anyway, I just had to share this. It is amazing what an inspiration a great new instrument can be. I want to play again!!

IMG_0980_zps16d5ad79.jpg

IMG_0985_zpsbaad1fa5.jpg

It's obviously a gorgeous bit of art even were it to have glued-down strings.

The 200 isn't in my personal physical geometry comfort level - not sure why - but the things have an incredible rep of doing anything at all for those who are comfortable with them. I look back at the Everlys and Gary Davis and... Yup, set up for your style of playing, it can do just about anything one would want.

Enjoy.

OTOH, you might also wish to try something like an ES175 or similar 16-inch jazz box. They're rather close in size to a classical guitar and I find mine - several - to almost wish to play themselves with my general choice of strings. Your "style" of playing and appreciating music may differ, of course.

Yeah, I think all of us can get burned out on a given lifestyle on occasion. Been there, done that.

m

Welcome.