Gibson Brands Forums

Beginners Guitar

tyt921

Hello Folks,

I been trying to find a similar thread so I wouldnt have to ask it here, but I couldnt find any. So please bare with me!

I am a beginner, self learning Electric Guitar for a bit over a month now. I am starting with my GF's F10 ESP starter set guitar. The strings are hard to play, bend, you name it. The overall sound is also very metal, as it should be. I went to guitar center and bought a Fender Strat. However, did not like the bridge position at all. It was too twangy and intruding. I went back to GC and tried a Les Paul, and dang. I was in LOVE. So Les Paul it is.

Now, the question comes down to which of the Les Paul to get. Because there are so many Les Pauls in different models. I already ordered a Les Paul by Epiphone Custom Pro in Alpine White (arrives in a day or 2). I have read everywhere that it basically is the same as the Les Paul Standard Pro, and that it is just aesthetics. So I might end up saving myself some money and get a Les Paul Standard. I really dig the split coil knobs, that gives me the options when I want that sharp noticeable tone. I was thinking about the Les Paul Studio for a bit, and may even splurge on the Gibson LBJ for $999 from what I hear at the store, they say its a steal. From folks here, it seems like the higher end of the Epiphone are better than the lower end of the Gibsons.

I cant play anything yet, but I love me some Jazz, blues, and some R and B, soft Rock. Nothing too hard. Any recommendations as to what Guitar I should take? All I hear are really the semi hollow guitars that seem to be rocking on this board, but I myself want an Electric Les Paul. Please guide me my fellow guitarists!