Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone SG Special Intonation Issues

dihnekis

So I bought an SG special off craigslist, seemed like a good deal. Didn't check the intonation because the thing looked brand new and the owner claimed they had bought it for their daughter who had never played it. Well I got home and checked the intonation at the 12th fret and sure enough, off by a pretty decent amount, high. Also the action was super high. So I used the bridge nuts to drop the action to a more reasonable level and started to back the saddles off to fix the intonation. Nothing is happening. I've brought the saddles away from the tuners a good amount and the intonation hasn't changed at all. Am I looking at a truss rod adjustment? I have a guitar ruler. I really don't want to pay for a setup for such a cheap guitar. I have an Tele American Standard that I've switched out compensated saddles and fixed the intonation on so I'm not a complete newb. Also, the tuners feel cheap and terrible. Would it be worth trying to get this thing in decent shape (new bridge, saddles, tuners, etc) or should I just give it away and move on to something else? I'm away from my Tele on work and I wanted a cheap electric I could leave in my guitar and not care if it got stolen. But man I wasn't surprised at how awful this thing actually is. Thanks for any help, I'm at a loss and the epiphone support told me to go screw. Doubt I'll ever buy anything from this company again after that customer service debacle.

How old are the strings? I would only set the intonation with new strings. Truss rod adjustment won't affect intonation much as long as it is in the ballpark.

Tuners are probably OK. If you have tuning stability problems some work on the nut, or better yet a new nut may be in order. Tusq nuts are pretty cheap and easy for the do-it-yourselfer to install and can be a big improvement.