Gibson Brands Forums

Covet a CC pup, but which archtop?

archtop tom

Hi all! Seeking serious wisdom from the archtop elders. I'm passionate about archtop swing - ala Pearl Django "New Metropolitan Swing" stuff, but work ridiculous hours on a seriously restricted budget (married), so every purchase has to pass approval.

A while back I got a '53 L-47 from a bargain basement situation. Like the Charlie Brown Christmas tree, I brought her lovingly back to life and she pays me back to this day as a hoot to play. Here's where things get complicated. The L-47 whetted my appetite for a nicer Gibson archtop and 24.75" scale is my size - I'm new to jazz, have extremely limited playing time & makes life so much easier. I've always longed for the Charlie Christian pup sound. I'm going to soon have the resources to put a Lollar CC into something, though still on budget. So here are my two questions:

1. Definitely want vintage (pre-60s/70s if possible). Can anyone confirm what 24.75" scale options I've got? Seems like L48 (or 50?) ES125, (pre-war ES150?), ES175 or L4 which brings me to the BIG question.

2. I found a nice-looking L4 which fits the bill. Looks like these have a good rep for tone and they're definitely an upgrade from the L47. Would it be heinous to dig into it and put the CC on? Or would it be smarter to use the L-47 for that and keep the L4 for acoustic only? Being laminate the L-47 would probably have less feedback issues and of course, I'm worried about seriously reducing value of the L4, but it would look really sexy on that L4. Really don't want to screw up this chance. Your wisdom, please?

Don't mess with the L4. Mess with the L47 if you want to experiment with that pickup. Can I ask what are you looking for exactly? If this is your first foray into the archtop world I would keep things really simple at this point not messing up the more valuable instruments. jim in Maine