Gibson Brands Forums

Fixing buzzing & intonation problems on Dot Studio?

ken-esq

I have Epiphone Dot Studio which was professionally set up about a year ago, and then not played much. I recently started playing it more and noticed two issues:

1. Fret buzz on B string from 1st through 5th frets.

2. D string intonation slightly off, gets about 10 cents sharp at the 12th fret.

I first raised bridge till fret buzz was gone. However, this threw off the intonation for most strings. D string now off by 20 cents, G, A and low E are all sharp at 12th fret by about 15 cents. (high e and B strings still intonate properly for whatever reason).

I next tried to adjust saddle on these four strings to fix intonation. It looks to me like moving saddle toward bridge would be correct direction after some trial/error (moving saddle the other way, toward nut, seemed to make intonation problem worse). The problem is, the saddles were already near maxxed out toward bridge when I started, so I could hardly give any relief in that direction. They are now maxxed out toward bridge and the lower (in pitch) four strings are still sharp at 12th fret by around 15 cents.

So I'm in a dilemma...If I lower bridge to get intonation back to normal, that'll bring back fret buzz on B string. If I leave bridge where it is, I have intonation problems that cannot be fixed.

I see two solutions:

First, a new nut that is cut slightly higher than old nut at the B string would seem to fix this problem. If the B string is buzzing when all the other strings are not, it seems the nut is cut a bit too deeply at that string. However, a new nut is beyond my home-guitar repair skills.

Second, I could dive into truss rod adjustment. I've never done this, but I'm guessing more relief on the neck would be equivalent to raising bridge, so I could then lower bridge without bringing back fret buzz on B string, and this might get intonations on other strings back in line.