Gibson Brands Forums

1962 Firebird??

javtejada

Hello guys, just wondering if you could help me out a bit here. Im looking at buying a Firebird that just popped out on my area and which the seller advertises as a 1962 GIBSON FIREBIRD (first Firebirds came out on ´.63 no? ) Funny thing is, there is no serial number to be found on the body itself, the only number found is INSIDE ONE OF THE PICKUP CAVITIES, so, question is, is this the real deal? Is that the serial number? Its the first time I see the numbers printed in the pick up cavity, so Im appealing to your more expert opinion on this matter. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks¡¡

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I'm by no means an expert on the Firebird range but didn't the '63 - '66 Firebirds have a straight-through neck?

Right from the outset this was one of Ray Dietrich's innovative construction / design details for the range.

In which case there would not be a neck-tenon as seen in one of the snaps......

Also Firebird serial numbers were stamped on the rear of the headstock as per the rest of the solid-body guitars of the time.

Lastly, here is a picture (from George Gruhn's website) of the Kluson "Banjo" tuning pegs on a real Firebird V;

firebirdtuners_zpsb3f6a7cc.jpg

The '62 might, of course, be a pre-production prototype with a few details different from what actually made it on to the production instruments.

And pigs might fly.

P.

There are many things "suspect" in the photos shown above, but I'm not sure quite what to make of it.

It's either some sort of prototype, or a fake.

I would like to know what the potentiometer codes are. This would give us some reference of assembly date.

I would like to know what the potentiometer codes are. This would give us some reference of assembly date...

Normally I'd be with you but in this case? With the greatest respect, Larry; no.