Gibson Brands Forums

'61 Reissue Sticker Mystery?

jimmiJAMM

Was just in Guitar Center in NYC and they had two '61 Reissues, one new model had the MOP inlayed logo/flower and the other used model had logo/flower stickers on the headstock. Other than that they looked exactly the same. When I pointed this out, the clerk said, "Yeah, Gibson does weird stuff like that." What's up with that?

Also the pick guard wasn't evenly spaced around the pickup housings on either. The black screws looked cheap next to the silver ones and none seemed evenly screwed in. I realize these are cosmetic differences but I'm a designer and aesthetics definitely count for something. It just didn't look nearly as elegant (or flawless) as my '07 Standard. The overall quality of these instruments seemed a tad lacking.

People sometimes say you're paying for the name but that's because In Gibson we Trust. Let's hope they continue to earn it.

Was just in Guitar Center in NYC and they had two '61 Reissues' date=' one new model had the MOP inlayed logo/flower and the other used model had logo/flower stickers on the headstock. Other than that they looked exactly the same. When I pointed this out, the clerk said, "Yeah, Gibson does weird stuff like that." What's up with that?

Also the pick guard wasn't evenly spaced around the pickup housings on either. The black screws looked cheap next to the silver ones. I realize these are cosmetic differences but I'm a designer and aesthetics definitely count for something. It just didn't look nearly as elegant as my '07 Standard. The neck was a bit thinner but I think the quality seemed a tad lacking. People sometimes say you're paying for the name but that's because In Gibson we Trust. Let's hope they continue to earn it.[/quote']

By "stickers", do you mean water slide decals or silk screen? Were they on the surface, or under the clear coat?