Gibson Brands Forums

Building speed

troysgguy

So I don't usually see a lot about playing on this forum. I assume most everyone is fairly seasoned. I have been playing and taking lessons for about 3 years. I have greatly improved, but seem to be having problems with speed. On the technical side I can play solos like enter sandman or crazy train, but just can't get certain parts up to speed. I have read about metronome, exercises etc.. I have doing been doing exercise, hammer on pull offs, etc.. Usually 10 minutes pretty much every day. Sometimes longer. Do I need more time? I am 42, I don't think I am too old to build speed? What have you all experienced?

Thanks much.

hi,

you would probably get more response to a question like this in the sub form named: Lessons, Playing Tips and Tunings

(just scroll down on the main page it's in the section a ways below the SG/LES paul forums - which are mainly used for talking about the physical guitar brand)

but to your question re: building up speed,

What you are really looking for is to develop the acute muscle memory to pull off those licks. It takes time, the faster and more involved the entire solo is, the more time it will take. IMO, it's really not a matter of just nailing the major patterns or licks you are trying to master, it's the entire body of the solo that has to be smooth and flow and "feel" right.

so that when you get to those uber fast parts, you have to go into them seamlessly.

If it is your desire to "note for note" these, then just be ready to spend the time "owning" them.

this is why most of us, will get in the ball park, and make the solo fit within the confines of the original, but tailored to what our particular styles have developed too. (we all have our own "voice" right?)

This is just my personal experience, for the time I've been at this (47+ years).

There are only a very few times that I've sat down and done a total note for note copy of a lead track.