Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson J-45tv, J 35 Collectors Edition, Advanced Jumbo Mystic Rosewood or LG-2 Americana

B1ues Boy

Which would you choose and why

I have to choose one and I have to wait 3 months or more to get my dream guitar

I'm a singer song writer and I play classic rock, Country rock, oldies, and folk

I've played in bands with amps for ever and I have a very nice Hand Made Washburn Southern Jumbo J-45 copy made in around 1985ish which sounds more like a Goodall Jumbo

The options here are kind of all over the map in terms of size, woods, scale. And price. Hands-on time would be the best way to sort it out. Given your musical interests, tho, Id say the AJ is the outlier here. G'luck.

The options here are kind of all over the map in terms of size, woods, scale. And price. Hands-on time would be the best way to sort it out. Given your musical interests, tho, Id say the AJ is the outlier here. G'luck.

Yeah the Advanced Jumbo is more boomy then the rest but it sure is a nice guitar

AJ Would be my choice.......since your in a band but for a Singer Songwriter I would pick the J45 TV... I prefer the 24.5 scale.

I Have a Mystic RW J45 sounds like RW the Mystic sure is pretty not sure if it's tone is that much different the any RW Gibby but I only have 1 good ear.

Jmhofwiw

With the obvious caveat "if it were me", I'd go for the J45TV or the LG-2. The rosewood would have to be excused because I find mahogany the way to go for human voice accompaniment/recording and because of the longer scale on an AJ. If you play plugged in most of the time I'd pick the LG just because the smaller body is more comfortable and playing into an amp negates any need for extra body size. That leaves the J-45 or J-35 and I guess you could flip a coin there but down the road the TV might be easier to sell if you ever change your mind. That's how my rationalization process would go.