Gibson Brands Forums

Pickup in a Legend?

duluthdan

I am thinking about installing a Trance Audio Mono in the J-45 Legend. Just for those occasions when I have the opportunity to plug in. I am not a working musician, not by a long shot. I had the Trance mono in the SJ and was very pleased. No messing with EQ, or DI boxes, just turn Bass, Mid, and Treble down to zero, plug and play. For the best sound, I would go with the stereo Trance, but want the convenience of being able to plug in without having to figure out how to carry around that break-out box.

Thoughts? Would you put an end-jack hole and a pickup in a Legend? Better yet - if you had the opportnity to buy a Legend, and it had a pickup in it, would that steer you away?

I wanted to put the K&K mini pickup in my HD-28V and like you, I didn't want to drill a hole in my Martin. I found this on line, the "Vintage Jack" and installed it with the K&K pickups. The jack works like a champ! I have had no issues what so ever. Like the advertisement says, it fits in the same hole as the end pin and works great. No difference in sound and NO drilling! Let me know how you come out.

Michael

http://www.kksound.com/products/vintagejack.php

It actually fits into the hole the end pin was in. You connect it to whatever pickup system you decide to put in the Legend. It stays in the guitar permanently because even though it is a jack for your pickup, it is still a strap button/end pin. They give you a 3 inch adapter cord that a regular 1/4 plug will go into and the other end is the small male end that goes into the vintage jack. They also give you an input plug so you can take a regular guitar cord, cut the plug off and connect this to it permanently. Then you don't have to use the small adapter cord. You just take your newly modified guitar cord with you and use it. I hope I answered your question.

That might be the ticket. Is it just an 1/8th inch adapter you carry around, or a whole cord?