Gibson Brands Forums

My first Gibson acoustic

Gibson Artist

A brand spanking new J-15!! First time i ever ordered from Sweetwater and they were the nicest people you'd ever wanna meet, even put on some new strings for me. The funny thing is ive heard people critique the guitar saying the action should be lower and it doesnt project chords as well as it fingerpicks.

Well, i got mine with Martin lights installed by sweetwater and it projects fantastic! The Martin D16rgt doesnt compare to it and the walnut/maple is absolutely gorgeous!! Maybe if i was a pro and picked higher up the frets id want lower action but for me this guitar just sings, absolutely in musicians bliss right now. The Top is so sweet looking it almost looks like a flamed maple. Finally, i am in the club, i got a Gibson acoustic :)

Oh yeah, it smells like vanilla for some reason lol..

009_zpsef0b29f3.jpg

006_zps7c9a36e4.jpg

007_zps06ccdacc.jpg

Congratulations GA, that back Looks fantastic. Have you seen this review of the J-29 and the J-15? They both look pretty good:

Ian

Thanks,Good review. I entered a contest to win the 29 but i dont think ill win. Still, im pretty satisfied with my purchase.

Very nice guitar! I actually prefer the walnut in the j-15 for a more pure tone. The rosewood, is great too if you want darker and deeper overtones. I prefer Mahogany, and this walnut j-15 seems more a kin to it. Most of my rosewoods got sold off because of overkill of overtones, which quickly annoy me, interrupting the sweet cleaner tones of mahogany...in this case Walnut. Enjoy it!

Very nice guitar! I actually prefer the walnut in the j-15 for a more pure tone. The rosewood, is great too if you want darker and deeper overtones. I prefer Mahogany, and this walnut j-15 seems more a kin to it. Most of my rosewoods got sold off because of overkill of overtones, which quickly annoy me, interrupting the sweet cleaner tones of mahogany...in this case Walnut. Enjoy it!