Gibson Brands Forums

Fake Les Paul?

harmeet45

Hey guys.

So I found this Les Paul on a local classifieds website. The ad says "Les Paul Standard Vintage condition", and is listed for $1000. I am an absolute Gibson newb so I have no idea if it's real or not. It seems quite good, and there is nice wear on the guitar. Take a look at the pictures and see for yourself if it's a steal or a fake?

post-66341-063631900 1404912017_thumb.jpg

post-66341-037739200 1404912053_thumb.jpg

post-66341-061504700 1404912067_thumb.jpg

post-66341-092385800 1404912081_thumb.jpg

post-66341-097747400 1404912110_thumb.jpg

Hello!

Here at the Forums, we have a silent agreement not to point out to faults counterfeiters make. We don`t want them to get better at their dirty business.

There are at least half a dozen tell-tale signs that proves it`s a typical chinese copy. (Not to mention the chinese text over the pictures).

If You want official confirmation, please turn to Gibson Customer Service, or wait a little until one of the admins comments too.

Cheers... Bence

Hey guys.

So I found this Les Paul on a local classifieds website. The ad says "Les Paul Standard Vintage condition", and is listed for $1000. I am an absolute Gibson newb so I have no idea if it's real or not. It seems quite good, and there is nice wear on the guitar. Take a look at the pictures and see for yourself if it's a steal or a fake?

The low price and Chinese writing on the pics suggests it's a Chinese fake, usually these go for about $400 new. It does not even look like its mahogany and almost all Gibsons are made from mahogany. Go look at real Les Pauls at any major music store and get more familiar with the real ones. I would not buy a used one until you really know what you are doing, buy a new one from a reputable dealer.

Btw, that's a lot of wear on the back, you almost never see that