Gibson Brands Forums

LP 70s Tribute

SOVA_2014

Hi, I wanted to ask who else has the LP 70s Tribute with the Vintage Finish? (Please if you hate this particular LP and you own a $6k one don't vent here. I'd like to communicate with those who own/owned one, thanks.) Do you like it? What don't you like? Any issues? This isn't the Studio btw. I'm new to Gibson products though of course I've been exposed to them like most of us. I saw the ad from 2013 regarding the Tribute series and liked the idea of the 70s model. I think they are discontinued??? I bought my guitar from Amazon after checking with Gibson to make sure Amazon was a legit dealer. I figured they were but better to check. I unboxed my guitar yesterday. I have to say I was impressed by the fit and the finish compared to the LPJ stain finish I saw at Guitar Center. I considered those but glad I saw them in person. They had damage hanging on the rack. Why did I buy it from Amazon? I'm left handed and Amazon was the only place to have it. I'm sure I paid too much but such is being left handed. I bought new because I wanted the warranty. The only thing I see that's not up to snuff are the witch hat controls. They wobble or look like it and you can see the set nut for the pot on three of them. Not a huge thing but it doesn't follow the care they took with the rest of the instrument. It sounds awesome and is setup great. That's despite its been in that box for 20 months and traveled one and half the distance of the US. It was made in December 2012! It got out of that box yesterday. I guess it was meant that I have it. I was impressed with the gig bag although I still think it should have come with a hard case. Some say they don't like the finish, but I think I like the satin finish better than the really glossy one. I like the simple look.

So tell me about your LP 70s Tribute.