Gibson Brands Forums

Ampeg V4 head from the 70's what to do with it?????

lesterpaul

i bought an ampeg v4 setup new in the early 70's, used it a bit sold off the speaker cab then put the head away, it sat in a garage untouched for the past 40 years or so (dam that was a while ago!!!) so a month ago i cleaned the mouse crap out of it, connected a small 8" speaker to it and plugged it in and hit the switch then stepped back...all the lights fire up, tubes all look lit up but all i get is a huge loud buzz that i cant control with any of the knobs,

i am asuming it needs a complete tube job maybe. i dont know if i want to spend the $200-$300 to retube it or just sell it outright as-is, it weighs 85 lbs so i dont want to ship it and dont want 20 clowns coming over to check it out either.

should i spend the cash then sell it as working or just cut and run, i dont need the monster any longer as i just started playing again for the hell of it and just use a small practice amp, i would like to find a small tube amp and dont need this monster....your ideas would be appreciated and can you reccommend a small all tube amp

It's likely just a filter capacitor. (AKA the death cap!) Big electrolytic capacitors are filled with fluid that hardens in time. I was told once it's like Karo Syrup & you should run an amp at least an hour a year. If yours sat for 40 years it's a real possibility the cap is the issue. It should be a lot cheaper than replacing tubes & it's even cheaper if you do it yourself.............. Good Luck :-k

It's likely just a filter capacitor. (AKA the death cap!) Big electrolytic capacitors are filled with fluid that hardens in time.