Gibson Brands Forums

Valve senior Mods.

Gooch Audio

• 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...

Hey Gooch, Just came across your post, and so glad I did. I have a "recipe" that I've been dying to share. These amps can easily be transformed into little boutique monsters that will urinate all over just about any other amps in the 15-20 Watt range. T here is not really one single mod that will bring the amp to life, but a combination of upgrades and "tweaks". That being said, I am about to write a novel, so please be patient. I can assure you that it will be worth you time, and hopefully mine, too.

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMERS AND WARNINGS!!!!!!:

1)Guitar amps and their components use voltages that can and will harm, or even kill you. Be sure that when working on your amp, the power supply is unplugged, and the filter capacitors are fully drained. If you don't know how to drain the filter caps, you can Google it, or shoot me a PM.

2)Although I am a some-what skilled luthier, when it comes to amps, I am really just a tweaker and a parts changer. I really have no idea what I'm doing, but what I'm doing seems to work.

3)If and when I state a opinion, it is simply that; my opinion. My opinions are based on my personal experience. I own two of these amps, so it make it easy to A/B different components, and I have, on several occasions. If anyone has a different opinion, please do not be a "hater" (as the kids like to say on the World Wide Web), but offer an alternative suggestion.

4)MOST IMPORTANTLY, SEE #1!!!!

O.K., let's get started.