Gibson Brands Forums

Google Sketchup...the ultimate pedal planning tool

Ryan H

Discovered Google Sketchup through a Youtube tutorial on drilling effects pedal enclosures...and I've found it to be immensely useful.

In case some of you haven't visited the DIY Thread in a little while, I've started building effects pedals recently. Not in large numbers (don't have the time or funds, particularly with some of the more complex circuits), just on-request and as I have time.

I'm not building my own circuits...i'm not an electronic engineer or whatever...just a guy in his 20's with a soldering iron and access to hundreds of layouts on the internet.

This isn't PCB stuff, no paint-by-numbers here. I'm building on vero (or stripboard), which takes a bit more patience to work with but is a great alternative if you don't want to handle dangerous chemicals required to etch PCB's.

Anyways...i'm building a Chorus pedal for a friend (modified Boss CE-2 circuit) and the board is...quite large. It'll still fit in a 125B enclosure (think Wampler single sized pedals), but I have to be careful how I position the jacks, pots and switches.

Google Sketchup allowed me to model every intricacy of the pedal (besides the actual details of the board) in 3D 1:1 scale. I modeled the enclosure, made all the holes (using guides to center everything), then modeled the footswitch, the board, and then Downloaded models for the pots, knobs, jacks and such...and using an X-ray mode in the program, was able to determine that everything will fit perfectly.

Here's the pedal modeled:

EDJXK0i.png

An added bonus...I can "hide" all the components (they're on separate layers), add centerlines to each hole, and print it out to use as a perfect drilling template! I'll be using this for every pedal I build from now on...this only took me 2 hours after just learning to use the program this morning.

Finally a CAD-esque program that's easy to use...

-Ryan

Guest Farnsbarns