Gibson Brands Forums

What makes Gibson better than Epiphone?

houndman55

Hey,

I'm looking for argruments why Gibson is better Epiphone except for the fact where the guitars are made. Arguments like "You gotta support the American economy" och patriotism isn't what I'm looking for. What makes the chinese luthiers less skilled that the american ones? And all the binding, finish etc. does that make any signifigant difference in the actual playability and sound of the guitar?

For Starters:

Better tone woods on Gibson.

Better electronics on Gibson.

Better carved top, not laminated on Gibson.

Nitrocelulous finish on Gibson as opposed to Polyurethane on Epiphone.

Not sure but I think the headstock angle is 17 degrees on Gibson, but not on Epiphone.

There could be more, but I'm not an expert. These are just some of the things I've heard over the years. There actually may be some Epiphone models that contradict my statements, but for the most part the overall quality of Gibson is better.

Well yes... the things above..

And just generally when ever I have played an Epi I found it just feels more clunky than a Gibson.. Its hard to explain...

But in saying all that some of the upper range models Epi are doing are coming real close.. Like the new Epi Slash model.... Its got a proper maple top, binding, slash pickups and orange drop caps... All its missing is the Nitro and its pretty much a Gibson..

Ive never actually tried one of their upper range models but I bet they probably feel a bit nicer too...

Not THAT much difference in an LP or a 335. Electronics, finish, neck binding, price. I doubt the difference in the lacquers makes much difference tonally, and the lacquer that Epiphone uses protects better than NC. Gibson does a better job with frets, and their pickups are higher quality, but IMO, don't sound much better. Gibson is a marginally better product, but not a better value.