Gibson Brands Forums

Ebony ES 135 and ES 137 newbie

CharlesM3

Hi all. I am a newbie to the forum as of today and an afflicted and addicted ES135/137 fan. I already have a 2002 Ebony ES 135 with PAFs and custom vintage cream plastics and just purchased a 2012 Ebony ES 137 Classic from a dealer in England that I am having brought over to the States by a friend in late December (pic attached). I'm curious if anyone knows how rare an Ebony 137 is? I could not find a single one to buy in the states. I've seen a few on the web and actually played one in the Gibson shop at the plant in Memphis two years ago. The Gibson site does not mention Ebony as a choice; just tri-burst, heritage cherry sunburst, blues burst, and sliver shades. Any insight to this color and it's rarity (or not) would be appreciated.

Thanks

-Charles

Hello CharlesM3. I don't think they are that rare as I have seen a few on UK and USA sites. However, ebony was not one of the original colour options, but I can't say exactly what year they started finishing them in this colour. Most of the ones I have seen are from 2012 and if this is the only year they were made they could become collectable in the future. Very nice instruments & congrats on the new one.

Here's an old listing for one Sweetwater had if you scroll down;

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Es137CEb

and a brand new one on sale now at Richtone here in the UK; The serial number dates it from 2012 though - maybe new old stock or one they didn't sell.

http://www.richtonemusic.co.uk/guitar-gallery/guitar/copy-gibson_es-137_classic_ebony.asp