Gibson Brands Forums

"Fan" throws a beer at Angus Young

Rabs

When I saw AC/DC, they opened for Aerosmith. When Angus rode Bon's shoulders around the arena, folks in the lodge seats where throwing everything you could name at them.

This was at a time when nobody 'got' AC/DC yet, but to me and all my friends that were there swear AC/DC killed Aerosmith's show.

As a guitarist my first 4 thoughts were:

1) I really hope that beer didn't do any damage to Angus' SG

2) I'd hate to carry on playing after being drenched in beer like that with sticky hands and wet clothes

3) Great band though they are, AC/DC do attract a sizable proportion of meathead fans.

4) I hope the security gave that guy a serious, er, "talking to" when they got him outside.

As a guitarist my first 4 thoughts were:

1) I really hope that beer didn't do any damage to Angus' SG

2) I'd hate to carry on playing after being drenched in beer like that with sticky hands and wet clothes

3) Great band though they are, AC/DC do attract a sizable proportion of meathead fans.

4) I hope the security gave that guy a serious, er, "talking to" when they got him outside.

Spot-on! I have noticed that there are plenty of "instant @$$holes" at such shows...

-just add alcohol!

AC/DC does attract a rather large percentage of pignorant meathead fans! Ones who don't give a rats @$$ about exceptional guitar work and simply want to party and rock and the expense of everyone around them...

Plenty or rock bands attract just such customers, so I suspect it's par for the course...

Reminds me of the scene from Road-House with The Jeff Healey band playing in the cage...

If I recall I saw a similar incident at a Kinks show in '82. I think Ray Davies handled it pretty well too! I think he came out with his own beer and drank it to show the fool what you're supposed to do with a beer...

The crowd went nuts and all was well...

Spot-on! I have noticed that there are plenty of "instant @$$holes" at such shows...