Gibson Brands Forums

Dot: limited volume range

papaschtroumpf

I go to jam sessions where we take turn soloing and playing rhythm.

We use house amps and no pedals.

I find that I have a hard time finding a way to quickly swap from rhythm to solo volume/tone with my Epiphone Dot Black Royale (2012 made in China).

Most other people either quickly turn up their volume knob or use their pickup switch to get a higher volume for solo, I'm guessing by setting volume higher on one of the pickups.

I'm still new to guitars, so maybe it's me not knowing what to do but I find that I don't have much useful range on my Dot. Even going from 5 to 10 doesn't boost me in solo territory. This is starting to get to me, I have to pick my solos really hard and my tone suffers. I'm starting to feel "handicapped".

Any advice? Asking on another guitar forum, people told me "that's what you get for buying an Epi the electronics suck". Would upgrading the harness fix the problem?

For reference the other people i jam with often have a Gibson LP, a Gibson explorer,a squier tele, a fender start and an ibanez strat-like guitar.

I am currently using an overdrive pedal as a boost, but I'm the only one that seems to need the crutch.

It's rather disappointing to learn that Epiphone wiring and parts are low enough quality that they need to be replaced to get decent performance.

The Buy link is broken on the Jonesy site so I can't see the price, but I'm guessing that's adding about $100 to the cost of my guitar, and I here installing the harness can be a PITA. I'm willing to give it a try if it'll solve my volume problem.

I see some harnesses come in 50's wiring. Would either flavor of wiring help with getting more dynamic range out of my volume pot?