Gibson Brands Forums

NGD: 1965 J-50 ADJ

Boyd

Haven't been able to put this down since I got it on Monday. Loving the adjustable bridge - it sounds just like Lightnin' Hopkins guitar to me [thumbup] It is setup very well and really easy to play. Looks like it may have had a neck reset a long time ago. The skinny neck is fantastic for me. After four days with this guitar, when I pick up my 2008 J-50 I'm amazed at how much harder it is to play. Also a completely different sound - much heavier on the bass end and the upper strings have sort of a "vocal" quality that is great for blues. The thick pickguard is also very cool. I wonder how much of an effect that has on the sound?

65j50-1.jpg

65j50-3.jpg

65j50-2.jpg

65j50-4.jpg

Looks like a beauty! It's interesting that you love the adjustable bridge when so many people dismiss them as tone killers. I have no experience personally of a Gibson adjustable, but I own a 1970s Japanese made acoustic with one, which I have never felt was in any way compromised in the tone department for having one. What are you planning to do with your other J50 now you have this new one?

Thanks guys!

What insert is in these pics?

Are you talking about the bridge saddle? It is the ceramic (I think…). Actually I thought it was some kind of hard plastic until I read about ceramic bridges in the other thread. I gently scratched it with a knife and it seems very hard. There are some little groves where the strings sit. Looks like this is just wear and not something that was originally there. Doesn't seem to affect the sound though. Can you buy a drop-in replacement saddle for these? Might be nice to have a spare.