Gibson Brands Forums

How does the Varitone switch work on an ES-137 Custom?

AlanC

I recently purchased an ES-137 Custom and it has a varitone switch on it. I've never used a varitone switch before and can't work out why the tone switches (if they are tone switches) affect the volume. However I also have other queries!!

Can someone please explain how the 5 tone switch works? I've sort of formed the view that mine my not be wired properly but that's because I find the way it functions to be somewhat strange. Regards,

how loud are you playing? taking out some frequencies will make it sound quieter especially at lower volumes.

i'm pretty sure you're varitone works corretly though. they do sound funny. most players can only stand 1 or 2 settings on it anyway. the others can be used for some interesting things, but most can't stand a varitone at all.

As modoc mentioned, the Varitone cuts out selected ranges of the output, so you do lose volume. Some players insist that you actually lose volume and tonal qualities with the Varitone set to "1"...I have heard sound files that bear out that claim on the LP forum. That said, I happen to really like the Varitone. Some of those thinner tones have this vintage vibe that I find very appealing. I wouldn't put one in my ES-335, but I'd love to get an ES-345 to keep her company.

Hi Alan,

What the link didn't mention was the role of the inductor, which bleeds bass in the same way that a capacitor bleeds treble. The inductor working with the various RC combinations in the chip is what gives you the notch effect.

I believe that the idea of the Varitone was to give the player single coil tones without the hum.

I sometimes use the Varitone on my ES345 but it is a bit like my relationship with effects pedals viz. there is not a lot of time left to explore effects when you are trying to get melodies under your fingers and you have a day job.