Gibson Brands Forums

Problem with G-String on a Standard 2015

harrybertora

Hello everybody,

i have a Standard 2015 with G-Tune, and the G-string don't stay in tune, often too high, often too low after play some mn (after the tuning with the G-Tune).

Have you the same problem, have you a solution because it's very difficult to play with a string who don't stay in tune all along a song !

thank you very much

Some people here might disagree with me, but, the G string for me is also the hardest to keep in tune. Make sure that the string is not binding in the not slot which is usually the most common problem. Be sure to use lube on that slot in particular. Also make sure that it's nice and stretched out. For me, it usually gets in tune eventually.

Edited to add: I have no experience with G-Force tuning systems or the new brass nuts.

Some people here might disagree with me, but, the G string for me is also the hardest to keep in tune. Make sure that the string is not binding in the not slot which is usually the most common problem. Be sure to use lube on that slot in particular. Also make sure that it's nice and stretched out. For me, it usually gets in tune eventually.

Edited to add: I have no experience with G-Force tuning systems or the new brass nuts.

you are correct. the dreaded g-string problem haunted me all my life until i found out what's really going on recently. i cant think of one electric guitar that hasn't presented this issue to me eventually.