Gibson Brands Forums

Spoiled: ES335 vs Stratocaster

RudyH

I started playing my Stratocaster again and observed something I never noticed before: It just doesn't sound good when played acoustically (ie no amplification). I think I'm spoiled after playing the ES335 and Variax. The Strat sounds great when played through an amp though.

I started playing my Stratocaster again and observed something I never noticed before: It just doesn't sound good when played acoustically (ie no amplification). I think I'm spoiled after playing the ES335 and Variax. The Strat sounds great when played through an amp though.

Hmmm...a solid body electric that doesn't sound good acoustic. =D>

Cruznolfart' date=' Two diffrent avaitars and both cartoons shaking their *** at me

I gotta give you a Hmmmm

Just kidding I like this one better then the cat, the cat was kinda creapy[/quote']

LOL! I forget, you gotta be careful where you shake it around here.

I wasn't intending it as a joke. I have a Variax 700 that sounds fine acoustically all up and down the neck.

I didn't think you were joking, RudyH, and I mean no disrespect. I'm just not someone who puts a lot of weight on the acoustic properties of solid-body electrics. I could be wrong but I'd bet they're never evaluated by the manufacturer for their acoustic properties. I know they have different voices, some more "acoustic" than others. But count me as one of those people who believes electric solid-body guitars are more reliant upon things OTHER than their acoustic properties in the performance of their task.