Gibson Brands Forums

How'd you start your Rock and Roll Band?

Wannabe Guitar Hero

The last regular gig I had came looking for me, for a change. The organ player contacted me at my job and said they needed someone. I said I wasn't interested, didn't want the hassle of regular gigging. I kept turning 'em down 'till I went to the first practice. I stayed with them for about 3 years. Funny thing was they'd been together for about 13 years when they took me on. When I left, they quit.

When I was a kid and first started playing out I met other musicians at garage jams and band battles. People were always hooking up with each other starting or changing groups. We never had anyone like Miley...I'm sure she must inspire dozens of young musicians. Good luck, mon! eusa_clap.gif

I started playing regular gigs when I turned 21. I got lucky because the college i went to has a great music scene. I played by myself for about a year or so. I then met the guy who sings in the band and we started playing accoustic gigs together. That gave me more of an oppurtunity to improve my guitar playing skills and not have to worry about singing as much. I got lucky because I personally am not a very strong lyricist, but my partner is. We eventually met up with the rythym section from another band. They quit that band and jumped in with us. Now we play every weekend and are starting to have a strong following across the state.

depends where you live, some cities only offer certin types of sences of that support the type of music you want to play, others may not have a lot of musicans.

My town:

Emo/Hard core/Punk/indie/Rap

nothing wrong with that just not my cup of tea