Gibson Brands Forums

Home Recording

fsharp

Hi Everyone

I've been playing guitar for 53 years, but I'm a complete beginner at recording. I want to do some half-way decent home recordings mostly for my own listening - hope I can hear things and get better. I've put together a Presonus Audiobox USB (2 instruments or 2 mic's) with 2 small diaphragm condenser mic's, their included Studio One Artist DAW and some headphones. I'm going to point both mic's at my acoustic guitar (no singing). I think its a reasonable equipment starting point. I've been reading up on recording and I'm wondering how necessary it is to start throwing bass traps and acoustic panels around the room. I have no hope whatsoever that my wife is going to go for that kind of redecorating. Can I ask how many of you have rooms prepared like that? Is it a waste of time to record in an plain old room?

Thanks - I do value your comments.

No, it's not a waste of time and you don't have to get too fancy to get started. I'd say you are in the ballgame. I imagine you will get some more specific advice here soon. Get started with what you have on hand now and you will soon identify any additional needs. Watch out though, recording gear can become an addiction in and of itself (as you can probably already imagine). I have a board mixer of yesteryear, two Pro Tools programs and a house full of aux(s) to boot all to prove that point!

steve

edit: and I should be honest enough to say, I got out of things about the time computers arrived. Took my toys home and aquired the computer gear over the past couple of decades just for fun alone, but never really mastered it as much as a board. I just never warmed to digital recording programs and devices.