Gibson Brands Forums

The Two Easiest Amp Mods. Replacement Speakers and Tubes.

arlum

This is something I've been doing for many years. Buy an amp, (used or new). Play through it for awhile. Does it please me 100%? If yes .....keep it stock. If not .... modify it to meet my desires.

I'm not an amp tech so I stay away from all the paths to electrocution. I've found that replacement speakers and tubes can make a huge difference all on their own without having to delve any deeper.

I'm wondering if anyone else here has certain "go to" aftermarket speakers to achieve this or that change in an amps tone / attack / cut through / etc.? AlNiCo , Ceramic or Neo whatever? Dustcover types? Cones ribbed or not? Surround? Voice coil size? Specific brands and models?

The same for both preamp and output tubes. Best preamp tubes for a specific sound in the V1, (or V2 in muti-gain stage amp), position. Best preamp tubes for the Phase Inverter position. Output tubes. Brands? Specific models or examples.? Compatible types, (EL34 / KT77)? Current tube construction vs. NOS.

Any other folks here too scared to enter the danger zone within the big bad tube amp yet desiring and achieving modifications that meet your desires?

I'd be interested in hearing more about this from the forum members; amp modifications are not something I have previously explored, but I have a curiosity to explore.

I know some basics about the tube side; EL34 valves are a Brit sounding classic; 6L6 valves are the American counterpart; KT77 valves are somewhere in between? (correct me if I'm wrong). One question I have is; does anyone out there do combinations of these in their amp? 1 of one type, 1 of another?