Gibson Brands Forums

PSA: possible way to get a real Gibson at a reasonable price ...

Flyer91

Guys, I got this in an email today and thought I'd pass it along in case some of you might be interested.

One of these body/neck combos, the hardware and some pups of your choice, might make a nice custom Gibby axe at a pretty good discount ..... especially if you are looking for a certain Gibson and planning on modding it.

http://www.stratosph...39587-219847921

I have no first hand experience with this company, but I do recall reading some controversial posts regarding them, so if you decide to peruse anything check 'em out first.

So somebody buys crappy Gibsons and re-sells them? MAN the world is a weird place.

rct

That's a good point.

I was thinking more that Gibson might have found a way to reduce inventory on the unfinished and non-selling models of late.

But your valid point makes me wonder how the headlocks are labeled. (???)

Before buying, it might be wise to ask questions ..... by calling 'Gibson' customer service as a start.

Thanks for the cautionary response!

What is stupid about a brand new $500 Gibson SG?

Might as well buy a Corvette body and put a buncha junk under the hood and call it a Corvette. We used to call that a Bradley GT.

It isn't good for the company and it isn't good for business. It's actually kinda weird, like something the local meth dealer does.

rct

Is this how that goofy shop next county down that lost his Gibson franchise like 15 years ago is selling Gibsons again? I bet it is. See how bad this could be for business? I'ma give some clown full boat for a Les Paul that he cobbled together with parts from his cousins' Kent? Well, no, I'm not, but I can see a lot of people that will.

Lurch would make the appropriate sounds for me.

rct